TARTU – University of Tartu

Tartu is the second largest city of Estonia. In contrast to Estonia’s political and financial capital Tallinn, Tartu is often considered the intellectual and cultural hub, especially since it is home to Estonia’s oldest and most renowned university. Regarded by many Estonians as the country’s ‘national university’, it is the highest-ranked university in Estonia as well as one of the highest-ranked in former Eastern Europe. The University of Tartu was established by King Gustavus Adolphus of Sweden in 1632, thus being the second oldest university in the region after Vilnius University.The university’s four museums, its Botanical Gardens and sports facilities are, by and large, open to the general public. The University possesses some 150 buildings, 30 of which are outside of Tartu. 31 of its buildings decorate the city as architectural monuments.

Release Dates

2009, 2010, 2015


  • Coin Alloy Name: Alpaca 12
  • Coin Alloy Color: silver
  • Coin Diameter: 31,00
  • Coin Thickness: 2,25
  • Coin Edge: serrated, fine with script
  • City: TARTU
  • Country: Estonia
  • Available: no
  • Location: TARTU, Estonia