LUXEMBOURG – Luxembourg City

The city of Luxembourg, population 82.268 (2002), is the capital of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Located at the conjunction of the Alzette and Pétrusse rivers, it is a banking and administrative center. The city, for reasons of its location and natural geography, has through history been a place of strategic military significance.Places of interest include the neo gothic Cathedral of Notre Dame, the fortifications, the Grand-Ducal Palace, the Gëlle Fra, the Neumünster abbey, the Place d’Armes, the Adolphe Bridge and the city hall. The city is the seat of a university, Radio Luxembourg, and several institutions of the European Union, including the European Court of Justice, the secretary general of the European Parliament, the European Court of Auditors and the European Investment Bank, the preponderance of which are located in the area of the city known as Kirchberg.
Coin is also available together with Porta Nigra coin.


Release Dates

2005, 2008, 2009 (2), 2011 (2), 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 (2), 2018 (2), 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024


  • Coin Alloy Name: Alpaca 12
  • Coin Alloy Color: silver
  • Coin Diameter: 31,00
  • Coin Thickness: 2,25
  • Coin Edge: serrated, fine
  • Country: Luxembourg
  • Available: yes
  • Location: LUXEMBOURG, Luxembourg