SOUTH AFRICA – Big Five – Leopard

In the animal kingdom of Africa, there is the term for the “Big Five”—which are the Elephant, the Lion, the Leopard, the Cape Buffalo, and the Rhinoceros.
They are not called the Big Five because of their size—though they are certainly big. In the days of hunting on foot, these five animals were the most dangerous and could turn and charge the hunters. It was the dream of the trophy hunters “to bag” these Big Five animals.
The Leopard is the least seen of the Big Five as it is the most nocturnal.
Unlike lions, leopards are not social and spend most of their lives alone. They are like the superhero of the big cats: they are sleekly graceful and almost perfectly camouflaged in the dappled shade of trees; they have excellent night vision and are incredibly powerful, able not only to regularly climb trees, but to drag prey 3 times their own weight 20 feet high into trees to protect their dinner… and they are even strong swimmers who sometimes fish! In additon to being expert climbers, they are graceful and have extraordinary hunting capabilities.

Release Dates



  • Coin Alloy Name: Nordic Gold
  • Coin Alloy Color: old gold
  • Coin Diameter: 31,00
  • Coin Thickness: 2,40
  • Coin Edge: serrated, fine
  • Country: South-Africa
  • Available: no
  • Location: SOUTH AFRICA, South-Africa